YAV

My YAV Placement

 A few days ago a received news that I will be working and living in Moyobamba, Peru. In Moyobamba, I will be working with the organization “Paz y Esperanza“, which is a non-profit organization (NGO). Paz y Esperanza “is an international Christian human rights organization dedicated to upholding and promoting justice for people and communities living in poverty or affected by injustice”. Paz y Esperanza is a confraternity of independent organizations. These organization are found in Peru, Bolivia, Ecuador, the United States of America, and the United Kingdom, I will be accompanying the organization in their project working with indigenous communities and land rights. This work will require me to travel a fair with the Paz y Esperanza team because the indigenous communities are in more isolated places outside of the city of Moyobamba.

download

Moyobamba is located in the jungle in northern Peru and is the capital of the San Martin region of Peru. As of 2015, the population was estimated to be about 56,000, about the same size as my hometown of Casper, WY. The elevation of Moyobamba is about 2,820 feet in elevation and is located near rivers, lakes, caves, waterfalls, and hot springs.

Screenshot_20170725-184643

Moyobamba is nicknamed “The City of Orchids” because there are about 3,500 different species of orchids native to the area.

moyobamba-peru-famous

I am very excited to start my adventure in Peru and in Moyobamba. I’m so excited to learn about Peru’s indigenous population and their cultures. When I found out I was going to be in this placement, I was very excited because I as selected as an intern for Senator Barrasso (WY) on the Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, when he was the Committee Chairman. It will be interesting to see the differences between Peru’s indigenous people and our Native Americans, as well as their different situations with the government and the other people of Peru.

Leave a Reply

