YAV

Becoming a Young Adult Volunteer

I am so excited to be a YAV this upcoming 2017-2018 year! I learned about the Young Adult Volunteer program through the Presbyterian Church (USA) while I was a sophomore in college. Two friends signed up to be YAVs and served in Northern Ireland. This last summer, I attended Triennium at Purdue University in Indiana as an adult leader with 40 other kids and adults from the Presbytery of Wyoming. When I was there, I saw a booth for the YAV program and I was able to ask more questions about the program and how it works. I thought this program would be a good fit for me because I love to travel, learn, and volunteer.

Right now, I am still in the process of determining where God thinks my skills and interests will be utilized best. The YAV program has limited places to serve in the United States and internationally. Each site is unique and has different issues that YAV work on, depending on the geographical location and its history.

The process for applying for the YAV program has been a long process. For someone like me who has anxiety, its hard to sit and wait for the calling process to finish, but that is part of the YAV experience – let God lead the way and let him worry about it.

At this point in time, my options for where I will serve are Washington, D.C., Miami, and Peru (actual location unknown). These are all sites where I can see myself helping the communities through God with my interests and skills. I can’t wait to find out where I will be spending my YAV year!

As I wait to start my YAV year, I have been volunteering for Camp Story, which is the Presbyterian church camp in Wyoming. It is located in the mountains in Story, Wyoming and is very beautiful.

Watch or more on my journey as a YAV!

Leave a Reply

